Women’s month…. blah!

As a woman I’m getting pretty darn irritated with all the rah-rah that go with women’s month.

Suddenly its as if every corporation out there wakes up and tries to show everybody their upliftment program geared at women.

Am I allowed to go blllrrrrttttttttt?

Is it politically correct or socially acceptable to show how much I find this posturing and effort done on our behalf as nothing more than just window dressing?

As a woman in Technology – I live the cultural and social discrimination every day… whether it is conscious, entirely deliberate or just plain ignorance.

The fact of the matter is that I’m not a bra burner.  Not just because gravity is a beatch – but because the more aggressive we become in our fight to be accepted as any man’s equal – the more we show our differences for men to parade around as the very reason for their discriminative actions.

Truth be told – I have no aspirations to become anybody’s equal… be this in female form or as a technologist. 

I prefer to celebrate my uniqueness as a person whether I go through life with a set of ovaries or a set of balls (which quite frankly I can rival any day).

I stopped being apologetic or ashamed of being a woman a very very long time ago.  Instead I live every day with a determination to make it memorable and to do whatever I do WELL.

My world is a lot bigger than just the perceived restrictions civilization puts on us … or even worse… the restrictions we place on ourselves.

If you have no restrictions you will have no limits because there are no boundaries to stop you.

Listening to the Lecturers today and hearing the reactions from the women DID HOWEVER make me realise that not everybody out there has the coping mechanism to flip a bird and challenge the testosterone filled assumptions and discriminations we as women face.

So I will grudgingly admit that these conferences are necessary for some, however I’m not going to go anymore.  Instead I’m going to motivate and insist that each and every man that is guilty of this practise go to them and listen to what these women have to say.

In other words… I’m not going to allow them to preach to the converted anymore – but will now put my foot down and force the guilty to go and learn and experience empathy with the very women they push down with their derogatory actions.

As for me…  I will continue to challenge perceptions and prove male chauvinists wrong by my very actions because why should I not do the very thing that comes naturally to me.

Smile and prove to the world that you are a person to be reckoned with – no matter your race, your religion, your sex, your culture or your appearance. 

Step out of your box and recycle it before somebody else can be placed in it.

Now…  I’m off to do some retail therapy and find a Sushi place close to the Protea Wanderers Hotel…  after all – a girl has to have her priorities right… not so ladies?

About Lyndatjie

A 50 year old Techno Junky from Cape Town - South Africa. Shares her home with 2 teenagers and other animals.
This entry was posted in Mundane ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Women’s month…. blah!

  1. Cindy says:

    So … what’re you wearing?

  2. Sven says:

    Lynda, any woman that wants to be equal to a man has no ambition. The only reason that religion spent so much time trying to belittle women and keep them down trodden is the fact that most women can out think, out perform and in general show men up for the immature A-holes that they are. The only difference between a 5 year old little boy and a successful adult male, is the price of their toys.

    it is time that women in general stopped trying to please men, run after men or be a man’s door-mat. It is time that they realised that there is nothing that they cannot do without a man for, except have a baby and with modern technology that is not strictly true anymore. It is men that cannot do without women and the sooner they realise that, the better.

  3. souldipper says:

    Some male friends recently went to a conference in New Mexico. They came back with the message that we are to keep our eye on world events…watch for the feminine influence as events unfold. Its time has come, they said. Women are going to show the way. And it won’t have to be a fight.

    I chose to believe it.

  4. granny1947 says:

    How did I miss this post.
    Excellent.
    Where are you?

Leave a Reply

